top of page
Post: Blog2_Post

20 Online Research Programs for High School Students in 2026

Dec 30, 2024
15 min read

Updated: 4 days ago

TL;DR

This roundup features 20 fully virtual research programs spanning STEM, medical and health sciences, and multi-subject fields. You'll find completely free programs alongside paid options, and many of the paid programs offer need-based financial aid. Every program here accepts high school students, though the grade level, GPA, and residency requirements vary by program. If you want a fully individual, mentored project instead of a group cohort, Lumiere's Research Scholar Program pairs you one-on-one with a PhD mentor across subjects like psychology, computer science, and international relations.

Getting into a university lab isn't always realistic if you don't live near a research campus. Online research programs close that gap: you get matched with real mentors, real datasets, and real questions, all from wherever you happen to live. Below are 20 online and virtual research programs, sorted by subject area, so you can find one that fits your interests, your schedule, and your budget.


How do you choose the right online research program?

The right program comes down to matching the mentor structure, the output, and the program cost.


Pick a program structure that suits you: A year-long program like MIT's PRIMES-USA pairs you with a single research mentor through four structured phases, while a lecture-based option like Stanford AI4ALL moves you through material in a small group led by graduate students. Neither structure is better outright; it depends on what you want: a fully custom project or a guided introduction to a field.


Decide what you want from the program: The Council on Undergraduate Research defines undergraduate research as a mentored investigation that makes an original contribution to a field. Programs that mirror this definition and lead to a finished paper or presentation are more useful for college applications.


Check acceptance rates and deadlines: Selective programs like Stanford AI4ALL admit roughly 4 to 7 percent of applicants and set deadlines as early as January, while open-enrollment options like UC San Diego's Academic Connections Research Scholars require no application. Know which category you're applying to so you don't miss a once-a-year window.


How does online research compare to in-person programs?

Factor

Online

In-person

Research skill development


Comparable to in-person programs




Similar to online + in-person lab experience




Reach to mentors and institutions




Wide; you could work with a PhD mentor from Oxford while staying at home




Limited to mentors near you or where you are willing to travel


Time commitment and duration

Two-week intensive to a full academic year, often self-paced around your school schedule (e.g., NASA's GeneLab for High Schools is asynchronous over 12 weeks)

Typically a fixed multi-week block on campus, with less flexibility to spread the work around other commitments (check options here)

Cost

Typically $0 to $4,000 (free options like NASA's GeneLab for High Schools on one end, up to $3,995 for The Coding School's five-week program on the other)

Typically $500 to $6,000 in tuition, plus room and board that often adds another $1,000 to $3,000


How much do online research programs cost? Is aid available?

Free programs exist: NASA's GeneLab for High Schools runs as a free virtual training program for rising juniors and seniors, funded through NASA's Ames Research Center. 


Paid programs vary in mentorship intensity: A short, group-based option like Stanford's AIMI internship costs $2,400 for two weeks of shared mentorship, while The Coding School's National High School Research Program costs $3,995 for five weeks, since two of those weeks build foundational skills before you move into an individually mentored research project.


Need-based aid is available: Most paid programs on this list, including Stanford's AI4ALL and the AIMI internship, provide need-based financial aid, but you typically have to request it separately during or after applying. Build the aid request into your timeline rather than assuming it happens by default.


Does online research carry the same weight with college admissions as in-person research?

Mostly, yes. Admissions officers say what matters is the depth and follow-through of the work itself, not whether it was in person.


Admissions officers evaluate the program’s substance: According to admissions officers, extracurriculars matter because they show the qualitative skills a student brings, not where or how the activity took place. A remote research project that ends in a real paper reads the same way as one completed on a university campus. 


Lumiere's admissions report shows that among 492 Lumiere alumni from the Class of 2030, students who completed a mentored research project (done entirely online) were roughly four times more likely to be accepted to a top university than the general applicant pool. 


Mentor recommendations matter more: Remote programs can give you more one-on-one time with your mentor than in-person options. Spending more one-on-one time helps your mentor write a more detailed and useful letter of recommendation. Regardless of format, a good recommendation comes from your mentor’s knowledge of your project and work.


Publication carries weight: If a program helps you publish your research in a reputable, peer-reviewed journal, that’s what admissions officers will notice. Regardless of the program format, publication shows you can conduct in-depth research, which colleges value.


How we selected these programs

We evaluated every program on this list against four criteria, so you know what to expect before committing time and money to a remote program.

  • Mentor credentials and involvement: Who guides the research, their academic background, and how much one-on-one time you get.

  • Program output: Whether you finish with a paper, publication, presentation, or completed project.

  • Cost and transparency: The full price, including any application or hidden fees, communicated clearly before you commit.

  • Remote delivery quality: Whether the program was built for online delivery from the start (synchronous mentorship, structured check-ins) rather than adapted at the last minute from an in-person format.

Section

Top programs

Cost

Best for

STEM & Technology Research Programs

MathQuantum, PRIMES-USA, Stanford AI4ALL

Free – $4,120 (aid available on paid options)

Students focused on math, CS, AI, or physics who want anything from a low-commitment two-week intro to a full year of independent research

Medical, Health & Life Sciences Research Programs

Cancer Research HS Program (CRHS), Stanford AIMI Internship, NASA's GeneLab for High Schools

Free – $2,400 (some with stipends)

Students interested in medicine, biology, or healthcare-focused AI who want mentored research without traveling to a lab

Multi-Subject & Interdisciplinary Research Programs

Lumiere Research Scholar Program, Immerse Education's Online Research Programme, Smithsonian Science Education Internships

Free – $8,400 (aid available on most paid options)

Students who want a fully individual, mentored project or flexibility across subjects rather than one fixed department


STEM & Technology Research Programs

These programs sit at the intersection of math, physics, computer science, and engineering, from a two-week physics intensive to a full year of independent math research.


Location: Online

Cost/Stipend: Free, no stipend

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Highly selective; approximately 10 students per cohort

Dates: Two weeks in summer

Application deadline: Mid-February

Eligibility: High school students interested in math, computer science, physics, or quantum information science


The University of Maryland runs a short, focused fellowship at the intersection of mathematics and quantum information science, including lectures, a mini-project, and sometimes free access to the Qubit by Qubit summer camp.


Who it's best for: A student with little or no quantum background who wants a low-commitment entry point rather than a full summer program.


Location: Fully online

Cost/Stipend: No participation fee

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Highly competitive; cohort of ~46

Dates: Year-round, four phases: reading (Jan 1–Mar 14), active research (through June 15), independent study (through Aug 31), write-up and October conference (through Dec 31)

Application deadline: December 1

Eligibility: Sophomores and juniors residing in the U.S. outside Greater Boston (or homeschooled equivalents); juniors may do individual or group projects, sophomores group only


A year-long, four-phase math research program run through MIT: foundational reading, collaborative research, independent research, and a final conference presentation. It's a serious time commitment aimed at students already set on advanced math. If you're interested in learning more, check out our deep-dive here!


Who it's best for: An advanced math student who can commit to a full academic year, not just a summer, and lives outside the Boston area.


Location: Online

Cost/Stipend: $4,120; need-based financial aid available ($60 aid-application fee, waivable)

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not officially published; independent estimates suggest roughly 4 to 7 percent

Dates: June 15 – June 26

Application deadline: February 6

Eligibility: Current 9th graders only, at time of application


Run through Stanford Pre-Collegiate Studies with the Stanford Institute for Human-Centered AI; students attend lectures from Stanford CS/AI faculty and work in small groups on AI-for-good research projects (medicine, disaster response, poverty) mentored by grad students and postdocs.


Who it's best for: A 9th grader who wants to explore AI early rather than wait for a program aimed at juniors and seniors.


Location: Virtual

Cost: $3,995

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No published rate found (estimate)

Dates: Five weeks in summer; exact dates vary by year

Application deadline: Rolling; need-based scholarships available

Eligibility: Interested in data science; no prior experience required


Run by The Coding School (a nonprofit, not a Columbia University program, though mentors include Columbia faculty and PhD researchers), students spend the first two weeks building core data science skills, then apply them to a real research project over the remaining three weeks under a mentor from academia or industry.


Who it's best for: A student new to data science who wants a structured, mentor-led on-ramp rather than an independent project from day one.


Location: Remote, hybrid, or in-person*, Fairfax, Virginia

Cost/Stipend: $25 application fee (waivable); plus $1,299 tuition for 3 college credits if offered a spot

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Roughly 10 percent; about 292 accepted from nearly 2,900 applicants in a recent year

Dates: June 18 – August 12

Application deadline: February 15

Eligibility: At least 15 for remote or computer-lab tracks, 16 for wet-lab tracks


An eight-week internship pairing students one-on-one with GMU faculty across dozens of STEM fields. The remote track specifically emphasizes data science, earth observation, and machine learning. If you're interested in learning more, check out our deep-dive here!


Who it's best for: A student ready for genuine one-on-one lab mentorship who can treat roughly 1-in-10 odds as real, not a formality.

*Remote is one of three official tracks, alongside hybrid and fully in-person, so students can opt out of campus entirely if they choose.


Location: Fully online (Zoom); optional in-person extra sessions available for local students

Cost: Paid tuition (varies by session); need-based financial aid available

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No published rate; small groups (estimate)

Dates: Two 5-week summer sessions, June–July

Application deadline: Rolling

Eligibility: Advanced, proof-comfortable high schoolers; no strict age minimum


Run by the Bay Area math institute Euler Circle, this class has each student choose an advanced topic and write a 20-page expository paper under founder Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo, modeled on the University of Chicago's math REU, and ends with a class presentation.


Who it's best for: A student who already writes proofs comfortably and wants a purely online alternative to an in-person math REU.


Location: Online

Cost/Stipend: $3,750; need-based financial aid available

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; roughly 64 students in the online cohort

Dates: Session 1: June 15 – July 3; Session 2: July 6 – July 24

Application deadline: February 2

Eligibility: 10th or 11th grade


Stanford faculty and graduate students lead a proof-based curriculum in abstract algebra, number theory, or algebraic topology, well beyond the standard high school sequence. If you're interested in learning more, check out our deep-dive here!


Who it's best for: A student who's already comfortable writing mathematical proofs and wants Stanford-level abstract math, not competition prep.


Medical, Health & Life Sciences Research Programs

From neuroscience to bioinformatics, these programs put students directly into biomedical research, whether that means a university lab, a hospital-affiliated institute, or a structured online curriculum.


Location: Fully virtual (includes an at-home lab kit shipped to participants)

Cost/Stipend: Free; students receive up to $500 in compensation

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not published (estimate)

Dates: July 6–17

Application deadline: April 25

Eligibility: Rising sophomores or juniors only; must reside in Utah, Nevada, Montana, Idaho, or Wyoming

Sponsored by the American Cancer Society, students get live online lab instruction using an at-home experiment kit in week one, then career-exploration workshops and panels with cancer researchers and clinicians in week two.


Who it's best for: A student specifically who wants a short, paid, hands-on introduction to cancer research before committing to a longer program.


Location: Virtual

Cost/Stipend: $2,400 plus a $40 application fee

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective; 20 to 25 interns per session

Dates: 2 weeks in the summer

Application deadline: February 1

Eligibility: Entering 9th through 12th grade, at least 14, U.S. residents


Lectures, group research projects, and mentorship from Stanford AI research engineers, focused specifically on where artificial intelligence and healthcare intersect. If you're interested in learning more, check out our deep-dive here!


Who it's best for: A student who wants AI and medicine to intersect directly in one project, not two separate interests explored on their own.


Location: Virtual

Cost/Stipend: Free, with a small stipend

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Highly selective; about 30 students per cohort

Dates: June 2 to August 29

Application deadline: May 15

Eligibility: At least 16 by December 31, entering junior or senior year, 3.0-plus GPA, completed one high school biology course


A four-week bioinformatics internship through NASA Ames, training students to analyze space-related biological data using NASA's GeneLab Data System, ending with a research competition.


Who it's best for: A student who's already completed a biology course and wants a focused bioinformatics project rather than a broad science survey.


4. EDIT ML Summer Internship Program (Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center)

Location: Virtual

Cost/Stipend: Not specified

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No published rate found (estimate)

Dates: April 15 to June 15

Application deadline: February 28

Eligibility: Computer science background


Machine learning research applied directly to healthcare: analyzing medical images, building diagnostic tools, and applying natural language processing to clinical notes.


Who it's best for: A student with an existing computer science background who wants to apply it specifically to medicine, not general-purpose AI.


Location: Online (Zoom, podcasts, email instruction)

Cost: $2,350 per 3-week session ($75 early-registration discount)

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Rolling admission until capacity

Dates: Two 3-week sessions, late June–July. 

Application deadline: Rolling, typically closing late Jan/early Feb

Eligibility: Ages 15–18, 3.3+ unweighted GPA; priority to older students


Students are paired with a UCI undergraduate or postgraduate research coach to learn evidence-based medicine and how to critically read the medical literature, culminating in a written research report that top students can submit as a conference abstract.


Who it's best for: A student who wants training in how medical research is evaluated and reported, with a shot at a real conference co-authorship, before committing to a longer lab placement.


Location: Virtual

Cost/Stipend: $600/week for the virtual track; $1,200 minimum (2-week minimum enrollment), $2,400 for all 4 weeks

Dates: July 6–31 (4 weeks), weekdays 9 am–12 pm Pacific

Application deadline: Registration opens March 1

Location: Virtual/Zoom (an in-person Stanford campus track also exists at a higher price, but virtual remains our pillar's fit)


A lecture series covering current research in immunology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and bioinformatics, taught by Stanford faculty, graduate students, and postdocs. Unlike most programs on this list, there's no competitive admissions process, just registration until seats run out.


Who it's best for: A student who wants exposure to Stanford Medicine research areas without needing to be selected, since this fills on a first-come basis.


Location: Online, live via Zoom

Cost/Stipend: Not specified in available sources (payment plans available)

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No application required; open direct enrollment

Dates: Monday–Thursday, 10:00 AM–12:00 PM PDT; ~30 hours total, minimal homework

Application deadline: Rolling; enroll directly, no application cycle

Eligibility: High school students (specific grade/GPA requirements not detailed in available sources)


Developed with UC San Diego's Institute of Engineering in Medicine, this course ("Fundamentals of Neurosciences: Health and Disease") has students examine brain structure and function from the molecular to the circuit level, covering neurodegenerative disease, with a guided rodent brain dissection demonstration.


Who it's best for: A student who wants live, faculty-taught neuroscience coursework without going through a competitive application process, since this is direct enrollment rather than a research placement.


Multi-Subject & Interdisciplinary Research Programs

These programs don't lock you into one department. Whether it's a flexible-length research fellowship or a program that deliberately blends STEM with the humanities, this section is for students who aren't ready to pick a single lane yet, or who work best across several.


Location: Remote; not authorized in California, New York, or Colorado

Cost/Stipend: Compensation or academic credit, depending on position

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Described as competitive; no published number (estimate)

Dates: Year-round: spring, summer, fall, and winter cohorts

Application deadline: Rolling

Eligibility: Eligible to work in the U.S., enrolled at least part-time


Interns support APA's ongoing initiatives across departments like research, policy, and publishing, while building professional skills specific to the field of psychology.


Who it's best for: A student who lives outside California, New York, or Colorado, since APA's remote roles aren't authorized as work locations in those states.


Location: Remote, from anywhere in the world

Cost/Stipend: Varies depending on program type

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No published rate; admission is based on academic review with a 3.3 or higher unweighted GPA rather than a fixed cutoff (estimate)

Dates: Multiple cohorts year-round, spring, summer, fall, and winter

Application deadline: Rolling; cohorts open in January, May, September, and November

Eligibility: Currently enrolled high school student with an unweighted GPA of 3.3 or higher; no prior subject knowledge required


The Lumiere Research Scholar Program pairs high school students one-on-one with a PhD mentor for an independent research project, with options ranging from a 12-week paper to a full year of extended work. You can choose from subjects including psychology, physics, economics, data science, computer science, engineering, chemistry, and international relations, and finish with a completed research paper of your own.


Who it's best for: A student who wants a genuinely individual, mentored research paper rather than a group program, and doesn't need prior subject expertise going in.


Location: Virtual or hybrid*, Washington, D.C.

Cost/Stipend: Free; stipend available, amount unspecified

Acceptance rate/cohort size: No published rate found (estimate)

Dates: 8 to 10 weeks, March through May

Application deadline: February 3 through March 7

Eligibility: At least 16 years old


This internship centers on science communication and media rather than lab research: content creation, social media strategy, video production, and graphic design supporting the Smithsonian's STEM education outreach.


Who it's best for: A student more drawn to science communication and media than hands-on lab research, since this role is outreach-focused rather than a research placement.

*Roles run virtual or hybrid out of Washington, D.C., with the on-campus portion varying by the specific role rather than being a fixed requirement.


Location: Online

Cost/Stipend: Varies by format; financial aid available

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Selective!

Dates: Flexible: a 2-week Classic format or a 10-week Extensive format, some subjects offer a 4-week option

Application deadline: Rolling, multiple start dates

Eligibility: Ages 13 to 18


Students work one-on-one or in small groups with Oxford, Cambridge, or Ivy League tutors across more than 20 subjects, ending with a written evaluation and the option to pursue publication.


Who it's best for: A student who wants to choose their own program length, from two weeks to a full ten, rather than fit someone else's fixed schedule.


Location: Fully virtual (synchronous or self-paced asynchronous track)

Cost: Free

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Not specified

Dates: Late June – early August

Application deadline: May 1

Eligibility: High schoolers in grades 9–12 or older, including non-traditional and international students


A volunteer-run nonprofit offering free mentored summer research across neuroscience, biology, computer science, electrical engineering, and chemistry, with weekly lectures and a final project presented at a virtual symposium.


Who it's best for: A student who wants genuinely free mentorship and doesn't mind a small volunteer-run operation over a university name.


Location: Fully online

Cost/Stipend: $1,295; discounts for early registration and NC State affiliates; partial scholarships available

Acceptance rate/cohort size: Open enrollment

Dates: Five weeks, late June–July

Application deadline: Opens March 1; closes June 10

Eligibility: Currently enrolled high school students, grade 10 or higher


Students choose from a set of faculty-designed projects across computer science, engineering, business, and social science, meet with their faculty mentor on a fixed weekly schedule, and finish with a certificate and evaluation letter.


Who it's best for: A student who'd rather select from pre-built, faculty-designed projects than pitch and develop their own open-ended topic.


Frequently asked questions: online research programs for high school students


What are the eligibility requirements for online research programs for high school students?

Requirements vary widely by program, from open enrollment to selective academic review. Some programs, like UC San Diego's Academic Connections Research Scholars, accept any high schooler who enrolls. Others set a minimum GPA, such as Lumiere's Research Scholar Program, which asks for a 3.3 unweighted GPA. Check age and grade-level cutoffs closely, too, since several programs on this list restrict eligibility to rising juniors and seniors.


What does the application process look like for these programs?

Most competitive programs ask for a short application, a transcript, and sometimes a statement of interest. Highly selective options like Stanford AI4ALL close applications as early as January for a summer cohort. Open-enrollment programs skip this step entirely and let you register directly once seats are available. 


Are online research programs only for STEM students?

No, this list includes programs well outside STEM, even though STEM options are the most common. The American Psychological Association's remote internship program focuses on psychology and policy work, and several general enrichment programs let you shape a project around humanities or social science topics instead. 


What skills do you gain from an online research program?

You'll build research-specific skills like literature review, data analysis, and academic writing, along with less obvious ones like managing a long-term project on your own schedule. Programs that pair you with an individual mentor tend to push these skills further. Several programs also teach specific technical tools, like coding in Python or R.


How can parents support a student in an online research program?

The most useful thing you can do is help build a realistic weekly schedule, since online programs require a level of self-direction that a traditional class doesn't. Check in on application deadlines and any interim project milestones, since programs vary in how much reminder structure they provide. Beyond logistics, the most valuable role is giving room to pursue a topic they're actually curious about, rather than one chosen to look impressive.


Are there online research programs designed for students with disabilities?

Few programs on this list explicitly market themselves around disability accommodations, but virtual formats remove several common barriers by default, including travel, physical classroom access, and rigid daily schedules. If you need a specific accommodation, contact the program directly before applying, since online programs can typically adjust scheduling or format more easily than an in-person cohort can. 





a transparent logo of Lumiere education
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

+1 ​‪(573) 279-4102‬

United States of America: 300 Delaware Avenue, Suite 210 #207, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA

United Kingdom: Camburgh House, 27 New Dover Road, Canterbury, Kent, United Kingdom CT1 3DN

We are an organization founded by Harvard and Oxford PhDs with the aim to provide high school students around the world access to research opportunities with top global scholars.

©2024 by Lumiere Education.

bottom of page